August 2010 Newsletter

Gluten Free Events Around Town: Going out for Pizza!!!
Abbondanza: 461 Main St., Longmont, CO 80501
Abo’s Pizza in Denver, Littleton, Boulder, Louisville and Superior
Abrusci’s: 300 Fillmore St., Cherry Creek, CO 80206 or 3244 Youngfield St., Wheat Ridge, CO 80033
Arte Pizzeria: 1467 W. Eisenhower Blvd., Loveland, CO 80537
Aurelios: 5022 E. Hampdon Ave., Denver, CO 80222
BeauJo’s Colorado Pizza Restaurant: in Denver, Boulder and Arvada
Bella Panini: 4 Hwy 105, Palmer Lake, CO 80133
Biaggi’s Ristorante Italiano: 1805 Briargate Pkwy., CO Springs, 80538
BJ’s Restaurant Brewhouse: 1125 Pearl St., Boulder, CO or 10446 Town Center Dr., Westminster, CO
Blackjack Pizza: 6560 Lookout Rd., Boulder, CO 80301 or 1102 Francis St., Longmont, CO 80501
Boston’s Gourmet Pizza: in Grand Junction and Highlands Ranch
Boulder Organic Pizzeria (BOP): 1175 Walnut St., Boulder, CO 80302
Café Colore: 1512 Larimer St., Denver, CO 80202
Carelli’s of Boulder: 645 30th St., Boulder, CO 80303
Extreme Pizza: in Denver, Southgate, Colorado Springs
Garlic Jim’s Famous Gourmet Pizza: 3982 Red Cedar Dr., Suite A, Highlands Ranch, CO 80126
Gindi Café: 3601 Arapahoe, Boulder, CO 80303
Gluten Free Bistro: PO Box 17154 Boulder, CO 80308
The Gondolier: 1600 Pearl St., Boulder, CO 80302
Jack’s Corner Café: 600 S. Airport Rd., Longmont, CO 80503
Lefty’s Gourmet Pizza and Ice Cream: 364 2nd Ave., Niwot, CO 80544
Mancino’s: 2601 S. Lemay Ave., Fort Collins, CO 80538
Mario’s Pizza and Ristorante: 213 W. Tomichi Ave., Gunnison, CO 81230
Martino’s Pizzeria: 1389 Forest Park Circle, Lafayette, CO 80026
Mod Market: 1600 28th St., Boulder, CO 80301
Nick-N-Willy’s Pizza: 801 Pearl St., Boulder, CO 80302
O! Pizza: 3980 N. Broadway St., Boulder, CO 80304
Paghre’s: 1541 Oxbow Dr. Unit 1800, Montrose, CO 81401
Papou’s Pizzeria: 5075 Leetsdale Dr., Denver, CO 80246
Pizza Fusion: 1738 Pearl St., Boulder, Co 80302
Radda Trattoria: 1265 Alpine Ave., Boulder, CO 80304
Restaurant 4580: 4580 Broadway, Boulder, CO 80304
Rock Creek Pizza Dough Company: 1631 Coalton Rd., Superior, CO 80027
Roo Bar Park Avenue West: 3480 Park Ave. West, Denver, CO 80216
Sazza: 2500 E. Orchard Rd. Unit E, Greenwood Village, CO 80121
The Sink: 1165 13th St., Boulder, CO 80302
That’za Pizza: 1020 S. Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321
Uno Chicago Grill: 16375 E. 40th Ave., Denver, CO 80239 or 9310 N. Sheridan Blvd., Westminster, CO 80031
Virgilio’s Pizza Napoletana: 7986 W. Alameda Ave., Lakewood, CO 80226
Yia Yia’s Euro Bistro: 8310 East Belleview Ave., Greenwood Village, Colorado 80111
ZPizza: 4940 South Yosemite St., Greenwood Village, CO 80111

What is new in the Velick House: 7 months and kicking
When I first found out I was pregnant, my first fear was ‘Oh my God, I am 42 years old. How is my body going to do this.’ Well, I have been utterly and truly amazed at my body. Sure, I had 18 weeks of complete nausea, to the point that all I wanted to do was sleep, but now that I am entering my third trimester, I am glad that those days are over! I read all about the various aches, pains, complications and health issues that can arise during a pregnancy. Technically I am a high risk pregnancy, so they look for everything! Thank god that I am healthy, and thank god for gluten free living. I feel like my body is even stronger than with my first two pregnancies. I exercise longer and harder, I do not feel too tired all day, and my back and joints feel fine. I am ready to take a glucose tolerance test next week, so we will see what those results hold for me. But for today, I am grateful that I have spent the last two years on a gluten free diet, helping my body heal so that I can prepare myself for this wonderful event in my life: pregnancy and baring a child. My labor goal is 9 hours this time through…and for those of you who know my history, this might be stretching it. You will all soon find out. Take today to start healing your body…you never know what your future holds.

Recipe of the Month: Gluten Free French Toast
Ingredients:
12 slices of Gluten Free Challah
3 eggs
3 T vanilla rice milk
1 t cinnamon sugar
1 t vanilla
Powdered sugar as garnish

Directions:
In a small bowl, mix eggs, milk, cinnamon and vanilla.
Pour into a shallow dish to use as a vat for dipping the bread.
Cut one loaf of gluten free bread into 12, ½ inch slices.
2 at a time, dip the bread in the egg/milk mixture.
Preheat a large nonstick 10 inch skillet on the stove top.
Fry bread on both sides until golden brown.
Remove from pan and serve with powdered sugar.
Makes 12 pieces of toast.

Strategy #6: Always carry food with you wherever you go
To me, there is nothing more uncomfortable than feeling hungry. That ache in your belly telling you that it is time to eat. There is nothing more stressful than being with kids who are hungry, especially when they are young and do not know how to express themselves and so it just comes out as one big temper tantrum or meltdown. One thing that I always do before I leave the house is pack food. Whether we are going to the movies, on a walk, to an after school activity, even if we are leaving to go to a restaurant to eat, I always pack extra food. Because we never know where we are going to be or what kind of food is going to be there when we get there. I know that if you can eat candy, popcorn, pretzels, pizza or ice cream from anywhere, your choices out in the world are limitless, but for our family, leaving the house can be quite a challenge. And for those of you who are just starting to get the hang of gluten free living, don’t get discouraged when you are ‘out in the real world.’ My very first article I wrote for the Boulder Jewish News was titled: “Gluten Free Living in a Gluten Filled World.” Enough said. So don’t leave the house without your favorite snacks and a water bottle. Your stomach and your kids will thank you.
Gluten Free Topics: Gluten Free: Why Now?
http://www.enabling.org/ia/celiac/cul-wht.html
It seems that Gluten Free Diets are ‘the hype’ in this day and age. I know that 3 years ago, I had never even heard of a gluten free. So why now? It is a great question, and I get asked all the time. So I thought I would take time to address some of the theories behind this latest trend in health and diet. Apparently, we have only been eating wheat for the last 10,000 years, which is not very long and thus our genetic constitution may not be compatible to this diet. Furthermore, as wheat was introduced as a food source, it too became genetically modified to increase its gluten content. This makes breads, crusts and muffins fluffier. In addition, the American diet is much higher in wheat content than in other cultures, China for instance, whose main staple is rice and soy based foods. Finally, when looking at the symptoms or lack of symptoms, gluten intolerances and celiac disease mask itself in a variety of ways, that we are only now realize are strong indicators of gluten sensitivity. I have listed the symptoms many times in past articles and in my May 2010 Newsletter. The fact is that doctors and health practitioners are just now discovering that these symptoms may actually be very real and the cause of gluten sensitivities and celiac disease. Before 2005, infertility, migraines, depression and IBS, had unknown causes and were left to the pharmaceutical company to ‘treat’ to alleviate pain and discomfort. It is only now that patients are investigating their prognosis and turning to answers by looking into their diets. I have always been a firm believer in ‘Food is Medicine’ and here is just another case where you are what you eat. As I have said in the past, if you have any unusual symptoms, check out your diet, get tested, resolve to not eat gluten and see if your symptoms disappear. For some, this may take time (see my September Newsletter for more information), but for other symptoms, you may notice changes right away. Living Stomachache free is the best thing that has ever happened to me. You can do it too! You really can.
July/August BJN Articles
A Trip to 31 Flavors!- ice cream with carob chips
A Trip to the Doctor, Optometrist, or Dentist CAN be fun!-Smoothies
When symptoms go out of control- Peanut Butter Fudge
GF Jews-The Perfect Challah
GF Cruising- Salmon and Quinoa

This entry was posted in Newsletters. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

