Pass on the Dairy this Shavuot

Shavuot falls at sunset on June 7, 2011 this year. As is tradition in my Gluten Free Living Articles, I love to do an article on Shavuot this time of year. Maybe I am always inspired by the culmination of school and the fact that I survived without losing too much hair. Maybe I love it because it is the time of year in the Torah when the Israelites received the Torah from Mt. Sinai and it is the time of year when the Confirmation Class graduates and presents an amazing service for our congregants. However, this year I struggled with what to make for Shavuot. I am currently nursing my almost 7 month old, and at 1 month old, she made it very clear that she did not want me to eat dairy. I noticed that she was spitting up a lot and she developed a rash on her face and neck when I ate it. With family coming in the next month, I was determined to figure out what was causing this issue. I looked up allergies in nursing babies all over the Internet. One thing I read that was fascinating to me said that if you are eating something that you think is benefitting the baby even if you can’t tolerate it, it might be giving her an allergic reaction. Well, that was easy, it was the milk! Probably when I was about 6 months pregnant I started drinking about 2 cups of Lactose Free milk with my coffee every day. I was trying to boost up my calories and my protein intake and my liquids so I thought this would be an easy way to do it. I am still lactose intolerant, with milk being my worst enemy, but the lactose free milk seemed tolerable to my system. Anyway, it could explain my pre-clamsia the last week of my pregnancy. Who knows? One thing is for sure, the lack of milk in my diet (along with corn, but that is a whole other article) made for one happy, clear skinned baby. So then I struggled with what I could make this Shavuot that would cater to the other poor Jews out there who also cannot have dairy products? Well, one trip to Costco solved the problem. The good old Vita-Mix ‘guy’ was preparing his usual ‘mystery treats’ in the blender. You know, he puts all this healthy stuff in and then makes it all taste good? Well, he was making ‘ice cream’ he said. I was skeptical, and so was my family. But when he served it to us in the little cup, I could not believe how delicious it tasted. After tweaking the recipe to fit our allergy restrictions, I came up with this yummy frozen treat to serve this Mother’s Day in honor of Shavuot: Dairy Free, gluten free, soy free, chocolate free Mint carob ice cream. Even my husband who hates mint flavor loved it!

Mint Carob Ice Cream
Ingredients
1 cup International Delights French Vanilla coffee Creamer
½ cup vanilla rice milk
4 T Arrowroot
1 T gelatin crystals
1 T vanilla
1 T vanilla whey protein
1 cup fresh spinach leaves
¼ t mint extract
4 cups crushed ice
¼ cup carob chips

Directions:
Place above ingredients except carob chips, in a powerful blender. I use a Vita-Mix 5200. Pulse for 2 minutes. Blend in the carob chips. Serve in 4 bowls.

This entry was posted in Gluten Free Article. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

