Gluten Free Living in a Gluten Free World

According to Dr. Peter Green, author of “Celiac Disease a Hidden Epidemic,” nearly one in every 100 people are affected by Celiac disease. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that causes damage to the small intestine, which can lead to the malabsorption of nutrients. The damage is due to a genetic intolerance to gluten, a protein found in wheat, rye and barley. However 97% of people with the disease remain undiagnosed! My name is Lisa Velick and I am Gluten Free. Not only am I gluten free, but soy free, chocolate free, partially hydrogenated oil free, high fructose corn syrup free, splenda free, aspartame free AND caffeine free! One might ask…..How? Why? One might comment…Impossible! Ridiculous! Too much work! I am here to tell you the ‘whys’ and ‘hows’, and why it is all worth it! I truly believe you are what you eat. I believe that food is the best medicine of all. I believe that healing starts from the inside out. I believe that you can feel better if you put good foods into your body. I hope you enjoy reading my columns. I have been writing for almost 2 years now. I write because I hope I can change a life, make someone feel better, make someone think about what they eat, make someone stop feeling so bad. My goal in this process is awareness. As a gluten intolerant patient who now reaps the benefits of a gluten free life, including my beautiful 11 month old daughter, I can tell you ‘it works if you work it.’ There are so many people who are not even aware of this disease or how it can or does affect them. I would like to help the general population understand that this is a very real disease, that everyone should get tested and if they are diagnosed, even with a sensitivity for gluten, that it is easy to live a gluten free lifestyle and they will feel better because of it!
Here is recipe that I love to give out and I love to play with. Each time I make them they turn out better and better. It is such a versatile recipe; I dare you to tweak it to adjust to your family’s taste buds. Here is a version of one of my experiments in the kitchen.

Lisa’s Sun Butter Cookies
1 cup Sun Flower Butter
1 cup Brown Sugar
1 T Flax seeds with ¼ cup hot water
1 t baking soda
1 t vanilla
2 T Gluten Free Flour (Bob’s Red Mill’s is good and sold at Costco)
½ cup carob chips (optional)
Mix all the ingredients, form into balls, and press with a fork. Bake at 350 degrees for 8 minutes.

This entry was posted in Gluten Free Article. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gluten Free Living in a Gluten Free World

  1. Pingback: Celiac & Gluten Free Living

Leave a Reply

