My health…3 years later…

I realize to quote my aunt that ‘we are all going to die of something.’ When I began this gluten free journey with my family, through the struggles, the tears, the complaints, the very late nights cooking, I asked myself, “Why the heck am I doing this? Why am I putting me and my family through all this torture?” But the answer is easy. It is based on quality of life…how you feel, how productive you are, how well you live while you are here. Before I went Gluten Free I was tired all the time, I had stomach aches all the time, I could not always be the best that I could be, AND I was in a brain fog, which made me not always think clearly or do the right thing all the time. That is not to say that now I am this perfect person who saves the world every day and never gets tired doing it. But, I feel like I am a better person, a better wife, a better mom, a better daughter and that is really important to me. I see things more clearly and yes, I do get a lot more done in a day because I feel really good all the time. And as you all know, weekly I try to convince others to do the same. To enjoy the benefits of Gluten Free Living and see what happens. I am not sure I have convinced many, but I give it my all, with this year focusing on just buying whole foods that are naturally gluten free. I hope you appreciate and utilize my blogsite at stomachachefree.wordpress.com as a reference in your life, in your daily food quandaries and when you might be ready to through in the towel. The other day, my husband sent me this article. If you do not read my articles, PLEASE read this one. It talks about a study done on gluten free diets. A large study in the Journal of the American Medical Association found that people with diagnosed, undiagnosed or ‘latent’ celiac disease had a higher risk of death, mostly from heart disease and cancer. I will let YOU read the rest, but it is a great article and focuses on the philosophies we Velicks live by.  It is an article by Dr. Hyman called: Gluten: What You Don’t Know Might Kill You.  It has some really good information in it.

It is Sukkot this week. Sukkot is a Jewish holiday Sukkot is one of the three Pilgrim Festivals when, in ancient times, the Jews made pilgrimages to the Temple in Jerusalem. Like Passover and Shavuot, Sukkot has both historical and agricultural significance. Its historical meaning is indicated in the Bible, which links it with Israel’s 40-year journey through the Wilderness en route to the Promised Land. During that time, they lived only in “tabernacles” or booths, in commemoration of which the Bible instructs the Jew to “live in booths for seven days”. However, as an agricultural event, occurring in the fall harvest season, Sukkot was also observed as a festival of thanksgiving for the bounties of nature granted during the past year.
One of my favorite harvest vegetables is broccoli. Broccoli is in season from October through April and it is an excellent time to enjoy this wonderful, nutritious vegetable. It is almost embarrassing the amount of broccoli I keep in my freezer at any given time. Broccoli provides a high amount of vitamin C, folic acid and potassium. The vegetable is also fiber-rich, which enhances the gastrointestinal (GI) tract, as well as aims to reduce blood cholesterol levels.
In recent years, broccoli has made the headlines regarding three components found in the vegetable: indole-3-carbinol thought to prevent hormone-related cancers, such as breast- and prostate cancer. I3C promotes “good” hormones, while working against destructive ones. And the sulforaphane in broccoli helps to increase the level of enzymes that block cancer, while the beta-carotene in broccoli transforms into vitamin A within the body, providing an effective antioxidant that destroys free radicals. Here is a great dinner for those nights when you need to come up with a fast yet nutritious meal.

Gluten free Pasta con Broccoli
Ingredients:
1 box Quinoa pasta shells
1 16 oz bag of frozen broccoli
4 T butter
2 T crushed garlic
1 8 oz can tomato sauce
2 cups mushrooms
½ t salt
½ t pepper
1 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1 cup rice milk
Directions:
Boil noodles and drain.
Cook broccoli until tender.
Mix butter, garlic, sauce, pepper and milk.
Bring to a boil.
Lower heat and add mushrooms.
Simmer 3 minutes.
Add pasta into mixture.
Remove from heat and stir in grated cheese.
Pour into a baking dish and bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

This entry was posted in Gluten Free Article. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

