Going Back to School-GF in the Classroom

Image

I really thought that Middle School food issues would be easy.  The kids are getting older, right?  No more birthday treats, no more Valentine’s Day parties, no more multi-culture potluck parties, right?  Wrong!  Some kids still bring birthday treats, and there are lots of parties, donut party after donut party, after donut party!  Really?  Why?  Who needs more junk food?  Well, apparently Middle Schoolers do, more now than when they were in Elementary School.  Okay, I am a cool mom, I can handle that.  And really, what it boils down to is being cool.  I hate junk food.  I lived on junk food growing up.  My mom tried.  She always had healthy foods for us: sandwiches, fruit, sunflower seeds, pretzels, granola bars, yogurt and cereals.  But I went straight to the junk: cookies, cakes, candy, ice cream and chocolate anything, M & M’s being the ultimate to die for food.  I do not regret eating all that junk.  I think it taught me, after a while, that it really was not all that great and it did not make me feel all that great either.  So I totally get that my Middle Schoolers crave all that junk.  And I get that they could careless how it makes them look or feel.  So really all I can do is not deprive them of what other kids are eating.  There is now always a box of Kinnickinnick Donuts in my freezer.  Why?  Because there is always going to be a donut party and I do not want my girls to feel bad that they are not included.  Because ‘not feeling included’ is going to feel worse than the donut will make them feel.  When you have food allergies, no matter where you go, or what you do, you kind of feel like the outsider and that can make kids feel resentful toward eating healthy for their bodies, whether it is not eating gluten, soy, dairy or chocolate.  I do not want my girls rebelling later in life so they can fit in, and be like everyone else.  I want them to be comfortable in their own shoes and at the lunch room table.  If they feel good about what they are eating, and they feel a part of the group, then they will be happy and satisfied with the whole experience.  The bottom line is that you have to make your kids feel good in any situation.  When they are going to a birthday party, send them with a big gluten free cupcake.  When they are going to a slumber pizza party, make them a yummy gluten free pizza (there are so many to choose from now) and when they are having a donut party, just get them a donut.  It will not kill them and who knows they may decide one day to  pass on the junk food altogether.  But, unfortunately, it has to be their decision, not yours.

It is always fun to find cookies in your lunch.  Here are some light and easy cookies to pack in their lunches every day.  They are not loaded with sugar and yet will satisfy that sweet tooth after a meal.

Vanilla Wafers*

Ingredients:

½ cup powdered sugar

1/3 cup organic sugar

1/3 cup grapeseed oil

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1/8 tsp salt

1 ½ cup GF flour mix

1 ½ tsp baking powder

1 T water

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Cream sugars, oil, eggs, and vanilla together.

Add flour and baking powder.

Add 1 T water and continue to mix until dough forms a ball.

Roll dough into ¾ inch balls and flatten slightly onto a lightly greased cookie sheet.

Bake for 15 to 18 minutes.

Makes 50 cookies.

This entry was posted in Gluten Free Article. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

